Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

About Us

Our Executive

The Law Council of Australia is the national body representing 16 state and territory legal professional bodies as well as Law Firms Australia. The Executive is comprised of six representatives of the Law Council's Constituent Bodies. The Executive is elected at the Law Council's annual general meeting each year.

2021 Law Council Executive

Dr Jacoba Brasch QC, President

Dr Jacoba Brasch QC joined the Law Council of Australia as a Director from the Bar Association of Queensland in September 2017. In 2018, Dr Brasch was elected by Directors to the Executive, and then to Treasurer in 2019.

Until her election as President-elect in late 2019, Jacoba was also the inaugural Chair of the LCA's Domestic and Family Violence Taskforce, a member of the FLS Executive and inaugural Chair of the Australian Bar Association's Access to Justice Committee and inaugural Chair of its Family Law Committee. In a break from her more usual areas of practice, Dr Brasch is the Chair of the Queensland Rugby League/ASADA Anti-Doping Tribunal.

Admitted to the Bar in 2000, Dr Brasch's practice centres on family law, child protection, mental health law and family violence. She has appeared in various states and territories of Australia and often appears in the Full Court of the Family Court of Australia. Jacoba has also appeared in the High Court of Australia, with those matters including, but not limited to, Customs & Excise, Family Law and the Hague Convention (Child Abduction).

Prior to coming to the Bar, Dr Brasch completed an LLM at New York University as a Fulbright Scholar and NYU Graduate Merit Scholar. In 2010, Dr Brasch graduated with a PhD from University of New South Wales where her doctoral thesis concerned what constitutes a fair, independent and impartial trial.

Mr Tass Liveris, President-elect

Tass Liveris has been a Director of the Law Council since October 2014. He has been an Executive member since 2018 and was the Treasurer in 2020.

Mr Liveris was the President of Law Society Northern Territory for three years (2015–17). As a Law Council Director, he has previously been the Chair of the Corporate Governance and Finance and Risk Committees and is the Director member of the Young Lawyers Committee.

Mr Liveris has had a diverse career in criminal and civil law, having worked at the Perth office of the Commonwealth DPP, the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions for WA and the litigation division of Clayton Utz in Darwin. Since 2010, Mr Liveris has practised as a barrister at William Forster Chambers in Darwin in a wide range of civil and administrative law areas, including contract and tort disputes, employment law, licensing, professional services, and migration law.

Mr Ross Drinnan, Treasurer

Ross Drinnan is a Partner of Allens. His practice covers a broad range of commercial disputes and investigations, including class actions, corporate crime, professional negligence and product liability matters. Mr Drinnan is also the Chair of Law Firms Australia, an organisation which represents major commercial law firms operating in a number of states and territories. He has been a director of Law Council since November 2016.



Mr Luke Murphy, Executive Member 

Luke Murphy has been a legal practitioner for more than 30 years and an Accredited Specialist in Personal Injuries since 1998. He is a Partner of MurphySchmidt Solicitors and practices in the area of Plaintiff Accident Compensation and in all aspects of Succession law.

Luke joined the LCA as a director in 2020. He is the Queensland Law Society’s member of the Personal Injuries and Compensation Group of the Legal Practice Section. He served as President of Queensland Law Society (QLS) in 2020.

For many years, Luke has been actively involved in liaising on behalf of QLS with State Government departments and statutory bodies and represented QLS at numerous Parliament Committee hearings. In 2016 he was appointed by the Office of Industrial Relations as one of six members of the Section 193A Review Panel. He has been a member of Queensland Law Society’s policy committees for over two decades.

Mr Greg McIntyre, Executive Member 

Greg McIntyre SC was the President of the Law Society of Western Australia and a Director of the Law Council of Australia in 2019, having been on the Council of the Law Society for several years prior to that.

He has been Chair of the Australian Environment and Planning Law Group of the Legal Practice Section, and a member of the Access to Justice Committee, National Human Rights Committee and Indigenous Incarceration Working Group of the Law Council of Australia.

He has been admitted to practice since 1976. His early experience was with the Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Legal Service of Queensland and as a sole practitioner in Cairns and was President of the Far North Queensland Law Association in 1987.

Greg joined the Independent Bar in Western Australia in 1993 and in 2002 was appointed as Senior Counsel. He is an Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Notre Dame Australia and the University of Western Australia, having taught courses in Indigenous Peoples and the Law and Constitutional Law. His current practice includes Native Title, Aboriginal Heritage protection, Environmental Law, Racial Discrimination, Personal Injuries and Professional Conduct matters. He is also President of the Western Australian Branch of the International Commission of Jurists.

Ms Caroline Counsel, Executive Member

Caroline Counsel is the Principal of Caroline Counsel Family Lawyers: Better Families, Brighter Futures. She is a Collaborative Lawyer, LIV Accredited Family Law Specialist, is a trained Mediator & Arbitrator and Family Dispute Resolution Practitioner of 30+ years’ experience. She is a frequent commentator on family law issues in the press.

Ms Counsel is a Past President of the Law Institute of Victoria (LIV) (2011) and current member of the LIV Board. She has been Chair of the LIV’s Collaborative Practice Section and presently holds the Family Violence Portfolio for the Institute. Ms Counsel formed a multidisciplinary Family Violence Taskforce chaired by the immediate past Chief Magistrate Peter Lauristen. The Taskforce worked with government to implement the Victorian Royal Commission’s recommendations.

She is a government appointed member of the Industry Taskforce on Family Violence. She is one of the inaugural board members of the Victorian Legal Admissions Board (appointed by Victorian Attorney General June 2015) and sits on the Admissions Committee.

Ms Counsel has been a long servicing member of the LCA Board as the LIV representative. In recent times she has served on the LCA’s Finance Risk Committee.


Most recent items

Trending Items